On The Up

Pollpic: The app encouraging users to get opinionated

Rebecca Smith | 24 November 2015 | 8 years ago

Alvan Whittaker and Ranjet Chohan
Alvan Whittaker and Ranjet Chohan
Ranjet Chohan, co-founder of mobile app Pollpic, discusses how he’s aiming to make his poll creator app the go-to device for gauging opinion, collating data while providing a fun route to engagement for its users.

Pollpicallows users to create image-based polls that can be shared through Facebook and Twitter to collect people’s opinions on everything from sport to celebrities.

The idea emerged after Chohan’s wife repeatedly sent him (and several of her friends) pictures of outfits while out shopping to get their opinion. Chohan wanted a quicker and simpler way to answer and also wanted to find out if he was as fashion-forward as he hoped, to seeif his thoughts lined up with those of his wife’s friends.

With co-founder Alvan Whittaker, Chohan hopes the app’s potential will see it become an influencer with decision-making, as users can provide opinions directly to celebrities or brands in real-time. Popular polls trend live to encourage further engagement.

(1) Who are you and what’s your business?

Were Ranjet Chohan and Alvan Whittaker, founders of Pollpic, a mobile app that allows users to gather opinions from friends and followers on anything from music to fashion. Users create fast, simple polls using images to compare anything, collecting results in real time. it’s fast and playful just swipe and see the results.

(2) How long have you been around for?

We started in July 2014, building the concept out of an original idea mywife asking for advice via texts while out shopping. We released our beta app in March, followed by a real launch in July. So, Pollpic has been live now for four months and were just about to release version two.

(3) How do you make money?

We will monetise in several ways from affiliate links to anonymised data. Partnerships and user acquisition are the priority right now.

(4) What makes you different and why should people take notice?

Pollpic facilitates real-time feedback and enables brands to better engage with their existing social communities in a playful way. Brands get fast informed opinions and followers get to give their opinion and influence decisions in a really engaging way by just swiping images left or right, then seeing the results.

(5) What was key in terms of getting started?

Putting together a great development team and raising some bootstrapping cash then stocking up on caffeine.

pollpic

(6) What’s your biggest achievement to date?

Having some high profile early adopters like House of Holland, Thriller Live and a major football club (soon to be live) and many more adopters in the pipeline now. Were about to head out to the US to meet with a major sports team there which is exciting.

(7) What setbacks have you had along the way?

With all software development we have had our fair share of? bugs with server and very late nights fixing them but it goes with the territory. I should probably mention never having any money too.

(8) In five years? time, I will be?

Looking for warehouses to accommodate our own servers as it’s hard to host 500m global Pollpic users.

(9) What one tip would you give to others starting out?

Fully commit. Don’t have a plan B. Ignore the 99 per cent that say it won’t work and focus on the one per cent. Break some rules? oops that’s more than one tip.

(10) Who are your business heroes and why?

Nicola Tesla. He wasnt the best businessman, but what a mind an unbelievably underrated genius. And Elon Musk because he named his company after Tesla! Sergey Brin is a hero of Alvan’s. He has taken and revolutionised the internet. His forward thinking and passion for success is truly inspirational.

Image: Shutterstock

Topic

On The Up

Related Topics

Exploring the Immersive World of VR Development: Applications and Opportunities
25 September 2023

Exploring the Immersive World of VR Development: Applications and Opportunities

Read More →
Saying Goodbye: The Emotional Impact of Selling Your Business
26 April 2023

Saying Goodbye: The Emotional Impact of Selling Your Business

Read More →
8 must-read business books for new business owners
19 October 2020

8 must-read business books for new business owners

Read More →
10 Pitfalls Inventors Face and How to Avoid Them
8 October 2020

10 Pitfalls Inventors Face and How to Avoid Them

Read More →
Five dos and five  don’ts for restarting your business in lockdown
9 April 2020

Five dos and five don’ts for restarting your business in lockdown

Read More →
Why an omni-channel approach is essential for e-commerce marketing
2 March 2020

Why an omni-channel approach is essential for e-commerce marketing

Read More →

If you enjoy reading our articles,
why not sign up for our newsletter?

We commit to just delivering high-quality material that is specially crafted for our audience.

Join Our Newsletter